Proteas trio selected in the ICC’s World Cup Team of the Tournament

03 Mar, 2023 - 00:03 0 Views
Proteas trio selected in the ICC’s World Cup Team of the Tournament

eBusiness Weekly

The International Cricket Council on Monday released their most valuable team of the entertaining campaign, which saw Australia defend their title in the final against the Proteas women at Newlands.

The Proteas made history as the first senior South African team to make an ICC World Cup final.

Stars from only five countries were selected for the elite team, with three South Africans featured in the list.

The team was chosen by a panel of experts, including commentators Ian Bishop, Melanie Jones and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Firdose Moonda, with ICC Women’s Cricket manager Snehal Pradhan acting as convenor.

Brits smashed back-to-back fifties to guide South Africa to the final, making 186 runs across the tournament.

The Proteas opener was named Player of the Match in the semi-final as she hit 68 runs from 55 balls before taking four catches in a star performance.

Brits’ opening partner, Laura Wolvaardt, comes in at number three on the ICC team and ended as the highest run-scorer in the tournament with 230 runs, including 61 in the final at Newlands.

Wolvaardt scored 22 fours and a tournament-high of five sixes as she passed the half-century mark thrice during the World Cup.

Fast bowler Ismail is the final South African in the line-up after taking eight wickets during the tournament.

Ismail delivered the fastest ball (128km/h) ever bowled in women’s cricket during the semi-final, also bowling three maidens, with no other bowler producing more than

The Most Valuable Team of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 (in batting order) is:

Tazmin Brits (South Africa) — 186 runs at 37.20

Alyssa Healy (wicketkeeper — Australia) — 189 runs at 47.25 and four dismissals

Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) — 230 runs at 46.00

Nat Sciver-Brunt (captain — England) – 216 runs at 72.00

Ashleigh Gardner (Australia) — 110 runs at 36.66 and 10 wickets at 12.50

Richa Ghosh (India) — 136 runs at 68.00

Sophie Ecclestone (England) — 11 wickets at 7.54

Karishma Ramharack (West Indies) — 5 wickets at 10.00

Shabnim Ismail (South Africa) — 8 wickets at 16.12

Darcie Brown (Australia) — 7 wickets at 15.00

Megan Schutt (Australia) — 10 wickets at 12.50

Share This:

Sponsored Links